Board of Directors 2020

AFP Charlotte is always looking for talented fundraisers to lead the chapter and serve the mission of the chapter. Serving on the board is a great way to give back to the profession and work side by side with your fellow fundraising professionals.

Our board is made up individuals from different organizations and backgrounds. Most have served on a committee leading up to their nomination, though this is not a requirement. Special consideration is given to candidates who have obtained their CFRE.

Click to fill out the online nomination form.


Penny Hawkins, CFRE
Senior Consultant
PMA Consulting, LLC


Past President
Mike Blackwelder, CFRE
Chief Administrative Officer 
Smart Start of Mecklenburg County


Caitlin Donley, CFRE
Chief Advancement & Finance Officer
Safe Alliance


Sarah Lanners Avinger, CFRE
Director of Philanthropy
YWCA Central Carolinas


Robert Touchstone, CFRE
Vice President of Philanthropy
Arts & Science Council


VP, Special Initiatives with IDEA 
Holly Whitfield
Executive Director 
Shepherd's Center of Charlotte

VP, Programming
Alexandra Reardon, CFRE
VP of Advancement
Girl Scouts, Hornet's Nest Council



VP, Outreach
Jessica Otto, CFRE
Capital Campaign Director
Carolina Thread Trail



VP, Membership
Brittany Jenkins
Manager of Leadership Gifts
Charlotte Rescue Mission


Erica Ellis
Senior Gift Officer
Make-A-Wish CWNC


Jane Weaver


Megan Mitcham, CFRE
Annual Fund Manager
Thompson Child & Family Focus

Affinity Groups
Sharon Bremer
Director of Development
Charlotte Rescue Mission

Lori Avery
Chief Development Officer
Pat's Place


Katy Ryan
Vice President 


CFRE and Senior Forum
Lucy Mitchell, CFRE
Chief Development Officer
Loaves & Fishes

NC Conference
Jane Sanders
Director, Executive Operations & Governance
Communities In Schools

Higher Education
Rex Otey
Senior Consultant
The Winkler Group
National Philanthropy Day Chair
Nick Stewart
Philanthropy Manager
The Relatives
National Philanthropy Day Co-Chair
Sydney Hammond
Director of Annual Giving & Stewardship
Safe Alliance
  Community Impact
Heather Moeller, CFRE
Regional Director of Philanthropy
Children's Home Society of NC
  Communications and Marketing
Katie Sutton
Latin Fund Director
Charlotte Latin School

Latest Tweets

Help AFP recognize diversity within our profession! Looking for a way to get the most out of your membership or kn… from @AFPCharlotte
Don't miss our Annual Fund Affinity Group! We will meet on 0 4/4 at 4:00 PM at the Catholic Diocese. Click here to… from @AFPCharlotte
Subscribe Me